SDSU’s PetroAzteca IBA Team Wins the AAPG Pacific Section Competition

2014 IBA Team

left to right: Bennett Spevack, Kip Hering, Andy Jerrett, Kaitlin Wessel, Trevor Swindell, Mike Verrier, Diane Cheung-Harris

SDSU’s 2014 Imperial Barrel Award (IBA) team, PetroAzteca, has won the AAPG Pacific Section Semi-Finals. It was a close tough competition against California State Polytechnic University – Pomona, California State University – Bakersfield, California State University – Long Beach, University of Alaska Fairbanks, and the University of California – Santa Barbara. April 4th the Team will compete against teams world wide in Houston Texas.

Congratulation to the 2013 IBA Team

IBA Team 2013

left to right: Jamie Purcell, Erik Gordon, Taylor Carrasco, Brandi Denton, Joe Whearty, Kip Hering (advisor)

Congratulation to our SDSU IBA team who competed over the weekend with 5 other Pacific Section AAPG schools. The results:
1. University of Alaska, Fairbanks
2. CSU Long Beach, with 1 member from UC Riverside
3. San Diego State University 
The team worked very hard as many of you would have noticed over the past 8 weeks, learning a considerable amount of petroleum geology along the way. This is a great highlight to have on your resume as mentioned by Tony Reid (PS-AAPG president and Occidental Petroleum recruiter). We are looking for next years participants, so if you are looking for an immersive experience in the oil industry and want to work with industry data let us know!
Posted in IBA